Repertoire Search

Charles Ives

Publisher: AMP

Sonata No. 2: Concord, Mass 1840-60, 1st Edition (1915)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
ed. John Kirkpatrick
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Charles Ives Sonata No. 2: Concord, Mass 1840-60, 1st Edition (1915)

Related works:
   Sonata No. 2: Concord, Mass 1840-60, 1st Edition:
      manuscript score edited by John Kirkpatrick
   Sonata No. 2: Concord, Mass 1840-60, 2nd Edition:
      engraved score authorized by the composer

Program Note
According to the Ives Catalogue by John Kirkpatrick, Ives’ own records and memos indicate that the Concord Sonata was mostly composed, or more exactly recomposed, in 1911-12, from the unfinished scores of the Orchard House Overture (1904), the Emerson Concerto (1907), and the Hawthorne Concerto (1910). Though Ives played the whole Sonata for a friend in 1912, he considered the last two movements not finished until 1915. The Essays Before A Sonata were written in 1919. In 1920, both the Sonata and the Essays were privately printed, the engraving of the Sonata being done by G. Schirmer, Inc., and the printing of the Essays by The Knickerbocker Press.
The revised edition of the Sonata was prepared by Ives himself in 1940-47, with considerable help from George F. Roberts, and was published in 1947 by Arrow Music Press. This Arrow edition, subsequently acquired by Associated Music Publishers, Inc., appears here as an unaltered reprint.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.