Repertoire Search

Avner Dorman

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Memory Games (for violin and piano) (2011)
G Schirmer Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
Piano + 1 Instrument
Year Composed
5 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Avner Dorman Memory Games (for violin and piano) (2011)
for Hilary Hahn

Related works:
   Memory Games (for violin and piano)
   Memory Games (for ensemble)

Composer note:
Originally written as an encore piece for Violin and Piano, the inspiration for the piece is the classic 1980’s memory game ‘Simon.’ The original game has four colored buttons, each with a distinct sound and a light bulb behind it. The machine lights a button at random and plays its sound and expects the player to press the same button in response. If the player is successful, the machine repeats the first button and randomly adds another button to the sequence. Therefore, as the game progresses the sequences become longer and more difficult to remember and reproduce.

So, technically, ‘Simon’ composes a little piece every time a game is played — there’s a limited number of notes added sequentially to each other at random making the selection seem very logical.

In Memory Games a similar process occurs around two different patterns that are introduced in measures 1 and 19 respectively. Several rounds of the game are played throughout the piece, so to speak, making it resemble the form of the Passacaglia (or variations on a bass line).

— Avner Dorman

  • Soloist(s)
    Hilary Hahn (violin), Cory Smythe (piano)
    Deutsche Grammophon:
  • 28 AUG 2016
    Chamber Music Festival of Lexington
    Lexington, KY
    Nathan Cole, violin; Alessio Bax, piano
  • 03 NOV 2013
    Greenwich House Music School, New York, NY
    Hilary Hahn
  • 13 OCT 2011
    Cincinnati, OH
    Hilary Hahn, violin; Valentina Lisitsa, piano

    Other Dates:
    15 October - Central Moravian Church; Bethlehem, PA
    17 October - Seattle, WA
    19 October - The Paramount Theater; Charlottesville, VA
    21 October - The Center for the Performing Arts; Carmel, IN
    23 October - Symphony Center; Chicago, IL
    27 October - Schwartz Center for Performing Arts at Emory University; Atlanta, GA
    29 October - Mondavi Center, UC Davis; Davis, CA
    1 November - Walt Disney Concert Hall; Los Angeles, CA
    6 November - The Broward Center; Ft. Lauderdale, FL

After intermission, Hahn filled the hall with Bach, her tone at its richest all evening. Avner Dorman’s labyrinthine “Memory Games,” based on the memory game Simon, and Gillian Whitehead’s “Torua,” written in the wake of New Zealand’s Christchurch earthquake, offered gorgeous and palatable social and historical commentary.
Erica Zora Wrightson, Los Angeles Times,02/11/2011
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.