Repertoire Search

Søren Nils Eichberg

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Endorphin (2011)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Søren Nils Eichberg Endorphin (2011)
The Concerto Grosso is a musical form which was very common in the Baroque period, but then widely vanished. With Endorphin I aimed to explore what of this traditional form is still of interest for us in a contemporary work and what we can save from this temporarily forgotten tradition.

In contrast to the solo concerto there is not only a single soloist, but a small group of soloists – in this case a string quartet – emerging from the orchestra. Partly the orchestra is leading, partly the quartet. Partly they are playing against each other, partly together. Ideas are being created here and are picked up there, revised, echoed, or even thwarted – and vice versa.

In so doing, it is not only the virtuosity of the soloist which is focussed on, but rather the constantly changing colours between smaller and bigger groups, as well as the split-up (fragmentation) and get together of the smaller group which in itself is interesting.

Regarding the title:
Endorphines are what we colloquially refer to as “happiness hormones”. Endorphine is an endogenous opioid that drives our feelings of excitement, pain and love. Thus our body rewards ourselves in certain situations – or stimulates us – with chemical compounds, which make us feel happiness. However, these are compounds which are similar to very dangerous drugs, which can often lure people on to destruction. It was this ambiguity between euphoria and constant threat that I found suitable for the mood to which the music developed during the process of composing:
On the surface there is a seemingly untroubled lust for life and for playing, which is always verging on drifting to something hidden, something broken. Even the tempo declaration at the beginning (“hyped”, quarter = 120) indicates this ambiguity.

  • Ensemble
    Mahler Chamber Orchestra
    Kolja Blacher, Violin
    Kolja Blacher
The piece is like a torrential river, whirling and curving. The composer does not fear noise, nor the use of C major chords. The Mahler Chamber Orchestra enjoys the opportunity to swirl with these joyous endorphins.
Dirk Hühner, kulturradio,30/06/2012
More exciting than even the best thriller.
Hamburger Abendblatt,28/06/2012
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.