Repertoire Search

Philip Glass

Publisher: Chester Music

Partita for Solo Violin (2011)
Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
30 Minutes
Unavailable Explain this...
Programme Note
Philip Glass Partita for Solo Violin (2011)

First Performance:
April 21, 2012
Tim Fain, violin
"Glass Chamber Works at The Temple of Dendur"
Metropolitan Museum of Art
New York, NY

Composer Note:
The Partita for Solo Violin was completed by the Spring of 2011. However, the origins of the work grew out of a writing/performing relationship that began with the Book of Longing (Philip Glass/Leonard Cohen) in 2008. At that time I was working with Tim Fain as one of the lead soloists and had completed a short solo work for him in the production. We both enjoyed the work process together and, with very little coaxing from Tim, I agreed to undertake a longer solo work. I chose the Partita as a form that would be familiar to an audience brought up on traditional, Central European art music. It would be in a number of movements (seven in the final count) and would employ familiar types of music — dance, chaconnes, a prelude, etc. The first three movements were completed early in 2011 and the last four just last Spring.

— Philip Glass

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.