Repertoire Search

Herbert Howells

Publisher: Novello & Co

Serenade (for 4 Solo Violins & String Orchestra (1917) (1917)
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Sub Category
String Orchestra
Year Composed
5 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
4 Violins

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
   Full Score

Programme Note
Herbert Howells Serenade (for 4 Solo Violins & String Orchestra (1917) (1917)
Herbert Howells wrote this Serenade in 1917 as the third and final movement of his Suite for Strings, Op. 16 (Op, 27 on the manuscript), the first two movements of which were re-used by the composer for his Concerto for String Orchestra (213) and Elegy (63) respectively. The serenade remained unpublished until the present edition of 2011. It was first performed on 13th July 1917 at the Royal College of Music, London, by the RCM Orchestra conducted by Sir Charles Stanford.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.