Repertoire Search

Hans Abrahamsen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Debussy/Abrahamsen: Children's Corner (2011)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Year Composed
18 Minutes
Programme Note
Hans Abrahamsen Debussy/Abrahamsen: Children's Corner (2011)

see Claude Debussy: Children's Corner, for orchestra

Claude Debussy
Children’s Corner
Orchestrated by Hans Abrahamsen
18 minutes

Dedicated with affection to Amalie Malling and Michael Schønwandt

I Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum
II Jimbo’s Lullaby
III Serenade of the Doll
IV The Snow is Dancing
V The little Shepherd
VI Golliwogg’s Cake Walk

The orchestration by Hans Abrahamsen of Children’s Corner by Claude Debussy was commissioned by Radio Kamer Filharmonie to celebrate Claude Debussy at 150 in 2012. Arranged in 2011, it was then premiered by the Radio Kamer Filharmonie conducted by Michael Schønwandt in Utrecht in February 2012.

Debussy’s six movement work for piano has been cherished the world over for its whimsical charm and the way in which they are evocative of childhood. Abrahamsen expands on these traits in his orchestration of the six little masterpieces; be it the mystical heaviness of Jimbo’s Lullaby, the icy pirouettes in The Snow is Dancing or the buoyant ending: Golliwogg’s Cakewalk.

see Claude Debussy: Children's Corner, for orchestra

Score preview

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.