Repertoire Search

Hans Abrahamsen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Per Nørgård: Surf
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
5 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Hans Abrahamsen Per Nørgård: Surf
Surf – for chamber orchestra (1983/1992).

The original version of Surf (in Danish "Brænding") for small ensemble is from 1983.
In 1992, for a ”Nørgård 60 years” concert, the composer Hans Abrahamsen made a new version – for sinfonietta.

Nørgård writes about the composition:

Surf is a short piece, 5-6 minutes, commissioned by the Danish newspaper Berlingske Tidende in 1983 for the final concert in their yearly Chamber Music Contest (for teenagers). The ensemble then – consisting of the finalists - was two flutes, clarinets, horn, piano and accordion.

Together with my work for sinfonietta Prelude to Breaking the present Surf is the nearest I have come to tone painting in music, here the raising and falling of waves – their roars and final dissolution into silence.

- Per Nørgård (1992)

see Per Nørgård: Surf, for large ensemble

  • Ensemble
    BIT20 Ensemble
    Ilan Volkov
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.