Repertoire Search

Hans Abrahamsen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Bach/Abrahamsen: Befiehl du deine Wege
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
5 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Hans Abrahamsen Bach/Abrahamsen: Befiehl du deine Wege
Bach's Befiehl du deine Wege is a chorale setting (BWV 272), which Hans Abrahamsen has arranged for fifteen instruments. In Hans Albrahamsen's adaptation Bachs chorale gradually emerges from two melodic fragments, both borrowed from the Danish composer Poul Ruders' Four Dances in One Movement'. In fact both fragments are taken from the last three bars of Ruders' composition.

One of Ruders' small melodies is descending, the other is ascending. The metamorphosis from Ruders to Bach can be accomplished because both of Ruders' melodic fragments are in fact 'hidden' among the parts of this Bach chorale inasmuch as the composer has transposed it into B minor.

In the first verse we hear only the descending Ruders melody. In the secend verse Ruders' second, ascending and chrornatically coloured melody is added. In the subsequent verses more and more melodies are added. Thus the piece begins with Poul Ruders' melodic fragment in the foreground. In the course of the next verse Ruders' material gradually recedes into the background, and permits Bachs face to emerge with increasing clarity in the foreground.

The piece is dedicated to Poul Ruders.

- Thomas Michelsen

see J.S. Bach: Befiehl du deine Wege, for large ensemble

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    BIT20 Ensemble
    Ilan Volkov
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.