Repertoire Search

Missy Mazzoli

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Death Valley Junction (2010)
G Schirmer Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Missy Mazzoli Death Valley Junction (2010)
June 19 2010
Santa Fe New Music
New Mexico History Museum, Santa Fe, NM

Composer's Note:

Death Valley Junction is a sonic depiction of the town of the same name, a strange and isolated place on the border of California and Nevada. The "town" is home to three people and consists of a cafĂ©, a hotel, and a fully functional opera house. Death Valley Junction is dedicated to Marta Becket, the woman who resurrected and repaired the crumbling opera house in the late 1960's and performed one-woman shows there every week until her retirement last year at age 86. The piece begins with a sparse, edgy texture — the harsh desert landscape — and collapses into a wild and buoyant dance. Marta Becket once compared herself to the single yellow flower that is able to, against all odds, flourish in the desert. This piece attempts to depict some of her exuberant energy and unstoppable optimism, and is dedicated to her.

‐ Missy Mazzoli

Sample Pages

This item is available digitally from

  • Ensemble
    Jasper Quartet
    Sono Luminus:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.