Repertoire Search

Edward Gregson

Publisher: Novello & Co

Violin Concerto (1999)
commissioned by the Hallé Concerts Society
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
28 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Programme Note
Edward Gregson Violin Concerto (1999)
Preview the score:

  • Ensemble
    BBC Philharmonic Orchestra
    Michael Collins, clarinet; Olivier Charlier, violin
    Martyn Brabbins
Each movement of the Violin Concerto (1999) is prefaced by lines of poetry as inspirational starting points. Certainly the brash, almost sardonic waltz climax of the first movement does catch something of Oscar Wilde's 'Love passed into the house of lust' (from the Harlot's House). The elysian, mystical slow movement rapturously played by Oliver Charlier, takes the listener far deeper than the quoted lines of Paul Verlaine's 'Chanson d'automne' and the Irish reel of the athletic finale is at one with Yeats' 'And the merry love the fiddle And the merry love to dance'.
Ivan March, Gramophone,01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.