Repertoire Search

Hans Abrahamsen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Traumlieder (2009)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Hans Abrahamsen Traumlieder (2009)

Traumlieder is a new arrangement, dedicated to Trio con Brio Copenhagen, of my ‘Six Pieces for Horn, Violin and Piano,’ which were originally written in 1984 as a commission from Danish Radio for a concert where Ligeti’s Trio for Horn, Violin and Piano would also receive its Danish premiere.

“The Six Pieces were based on my Studies for Piano. While writing these studies, I tried to ‘conjure up’ instrumental parts inside the piano movement. When creating the trio, I turned to six of the studies and deepened them by ‘screening’ them so that their parts and moods appeared in a clearer way. Furthermore I changed the order of the movements so a new unity appeared, beginning with a steadily hesitating Serenade in slow-motion followed by the Arabesque, which hardly gets started before it stops. Then Blues, a melancholy melody and Marcia funebre, like a fossilized picture with a dramatic, threatening outburst ending with a quiet but majestic melody in the violin and cello, a melody that disappears in the chords of the piano. Before the last movement, For the Children, is a large Scherzo misterioso.”

Hans Abrahamsen

Score preview (excerpt)

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.