Repertoire Search

Philip Glass

Publisher: Chester Music

Music in Similar Motion (1973)
Work Notes
"Music in Similar Motion" is an open score which can be performed by any group of instruments; it should not be confined to the arrangement listed. [i.e. 2+pic.2+ca.2+Ebcl+bcl.2/4221/eorg[=pf]/str]. Any combination of instruments whose range suits the material is acceptable.
Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
15 Minutes
Programme Note
Philip Glass Music in Similar Motion (1973)
The real innovation in "Similar Motion" is its sense of drama. The earlier pieces were meditative, steady-state pieces that established a mood and stayed there. But "Similar Motion" starts with one voice, then adds another playing a fourth above the original line, and then another playing a fourth below the original line, and finally a bass line kicks in to complete the sound. As each new voice enters, there is a dramatic change in the music.

© Philip Glass

Each figure should be repeated an indefinite number of times. The leader of the ensemble should, at his or her discretion, nod once, indicating that the ensemble should repeat the figure twice more before proceeding. Exceptions to this are indicated, and last until the next indication.

It is possible for the piece to be played through without any optional repeats to last for about 6 minutes. On the other hand, in theory, the leader of the ensemble could indicate sufficient repeats by the nod of a head that the work would last all night – even eternally. But based upon the composer’s own practice in performance, there is a suggested duration for the work of anywhere between 17 and 25 minutes.

The piece should be played at a constant dynamic: forte.

Players must choose what direction to take where the third and fourth voices enter: either everybody is playing constantly and either they divide there or they enter the work at that point. Keyboard players will play from two staves.

  • Soloist(s)
    Manuel Zurria, flute / Paolo Ravaglia, clarinet / Francesco Peverini, violin / Francesco Dillon, cello / Oscar Pizzo, keyboard / Gianluca Ruggeri, marimba
  • Ensemble
    Philip Glass Ensemble
  • Ensemble
    Alter Ego
    Orange Mountain Music:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.