Repertoire Search

Helen Grime

Publisher: Chester Music

10 Miniatures (2009)
Commissioned by ecat with funds provided by the Scottish Arts Council.
Work Notes
Commissioned by ecat with funds provided by the Scottish Arts Council.
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
5 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Helen Grime 10 Miniatures (2009)
In 10 Miniatures, I wanted to explore the idea of transforming material in unusual ways. Each miniature is related to its predecessor. I have taken an idea or series of ideas, whether it is a chord, melodic fragment or rhythmic cell, and used it to form the starting point for the next movement. Each movement has its own title, ranging from Delicate and Fleeting to Bold and Ceremonial and Urgent and Rhythmical.

Performance note:
The miniatures may either be separated by pauses of varying lengths or played attacca at
the discretion of the performer.

(c) Helen Grime

Sample Pages

In these exquisite and highly refined bagatelles, the influence of the second Viennese school and Takemitsu rub shoulders to produce an entrancing cocktail that is always arresting, varied and finely crafted. Each of the miniatures is motivically related, yet the range on offer is impressive. In particular, Grime has an ear for rhythmic precision. Her use of rests is captivating, as is her understanding of the sustaining pedal. In terms of texture and pianistic layout, there is a broad range, though Grime is careful never to overload the listener in terms of sonic density. Indeed, there are very few chordal moments in this extremely concentrated and practically conceived five-minute suite, with characterisations ranging from the wistful and distant through to the martial, violent and finally nostalgic and resigned. Strongly recommended.
International Piano,01/05/2012
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.