Repertoire Search

Lera Auerbach

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Sogno di Stabat Mater (2008)
Work Notes
Available in the USA and Canada only
Hans Sikorski
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Violin, Viola, Vibraphone
Programme Note
Lera Auerbach Sogno di Stabat Mater (2008)

After Pergolesi.

From Dialogues on Stabat Mater

  • 12 APR 2013
    New York, NY
    Salome Chamber Orchestra
    Philippe Quintet; David Aaron Carpenter, conductor
  • 12 DEC 2012
    San Francisco, CA
    New Century Chamber Orchestra
    Anna Kruger, Nadia Salerno-Sonnenberg

    Other Dates:
    13-16 December - San Francisco, CA
  • 20 OCT 2011
    St Paul, MN
    Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra
    Scott Yoo, conductor
  • 11 NOV 2010
    Sogno di Stabat Mater New York Premiere
    Sogno di Stabat Mater
    Alice Tully Hall, New York, NY
    Kemerata Baltica
    Ula Ulijona, viola; Giedre Dirvanauskaute, cello; Andrei Pushkarev, percussion;Gidon Kremer, violin; Gidon Kremer, conductor
  • 11 NOV 2010
    Alice Tully Hall
    Kremerata Baltica
    Gidon Kremer, conductor

Kremerata Baltica has championed living composers from the Baltics, Russia and other Eastern European regions, many of whom have been immersed in spiritual dimensions of music, like Ms. Auerbach, whose “Sogno di Stabat Mater” opened Thursday’s program in its New York premiere. This alluring, reflective piece is a reworking of an 18th-century Italian sacred work, the Stabat Mater by Pergolesi. Ms. Auerbach considers this 12-minute piece — scored for violin (Mr. Kremer), viola (Ula Ulijona), vibraphone (Andrei Pushkarev) and string orchestra — a dialogue across time. The sections of the piece that more closely follow Pergolesi are tweaked and slightly distorted, with pronounced walking bass lines and harmonies that mingle and blur. But the sections in which Ms. Auerbach riffs on the original to explore new sounds, chords and textures seem just as much a homage to Pergolesi.
Anthony Tommasini, New York Times,12/11/2010
As a bookend, the orchestra offered Lera Auerbach's fascinating "Sogno di Stabat Mater," a loving but subversive revisiting of bits of Pergolesi's "Stabat Mater." Auerbach's score, drawn from a much larger project addressing Pergolesi's entire work, moves with assurance between relatively faithful snippets and ghostly, blurry memories of the source. Kremer was joined by violist Ula Ulijona and vibraphonist Andrei Pushkarev as soloists.
Joshua Kosman, San Francisco Chronicle,02/11/2010
Auerbach’s “Sogno di Stabat Mater (After Pergolesi)” was best of all: music of Baroque-inspired grandeur and reserve, with melodies ravishing and faint as radio signals and textures thickening to a freezing boil, like the Beatles’ “A Day in the Life” multiplied by 10.
Richard Scheinin, Mercury News,02/11/2010
The Ingenious allusions to Pergolesi, which form the thematic framework for Auerbach's Sogno di Stabat Mater, are particularly striking and are projected here with blazing commitment by Kremer and his outstanding orchestra.
BBC Music Magazine,01/11/2010
Lera Auerbach's "Sogno di Stabat Mater" ("Dream of Stabat Mater") is a take-off on 18th-century Italian composer Giovanni Pergolesi's famous choral work, Stabat Mater. But Auerbach transforms it into a kind of mini concerto for violin, viola and chamber orchestra, filtering filtering the old baroque style through a contemporary lens.
Tom Huizenga, NPR / All Things Considered,24/10/2010
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.