Repertoire Search

Augusta Read Thomas

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Radiant Circles (2010)
G Schirmer Inc
Year Composed
8 Minutes
Programme Note
Augusta Read Thomas Radiant Circles (2010)
the composer behind Radiant Circles
March 10 2011
Hew Haven Symphony Orchestra
William Boughton, conductor
New Haven, CT


  • 07 MAR 2020
    Symphony Hall, Springfield, MA
    Springfield Symphony Orchestra
    Angelo Xiang Yu, Violin; Kevin Rhodes, conductor

She has been 'in residence,' too, with the New Haven Symphony Orchestra, and for them wrote the gritty and brassy, containedly turbulent piece we heard: Radiant Circles (2010), a compelling nine-minute orchestral study.
Paul Driver, The Sunday Times,19/05/2019
Thursday’s concert by the New Haven Symphony Orchestra was anything but business as usual. First came the premiere of an unapologetically modern work by the orchestra’s composer in residence, not an everyday occurrence in Woolsey Hall. Augusta Read Thomas’ Radiant Circles is abstract music that, true to its title, seems to revolve about the stage, highlighting different instrumental groups. It explores orchestral colors in an apparently spontaneous, random way, without any repeated sequences that might help structure it for the listener. Yet there is a suggested pattern in the growth from smaller to larger fragments, the progress from light to dark, and the rise in intensity — emphasized by the big timpani solos near the end. Music Director William Boughton, in introducing the piece, spoke of hints of sunrise, but the bright, dissonant woodwind chords evoked something more dramatic than rosy-fingered dawn. The composer reportedly wrote Radiant Circles with this orchestra in mind, and the conductor and players returned the compliment with a performance that felt both poised and adventurous.
David J. Baker, New Haven Register,13/03/2011
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.