Repertoire Search

Nico Muhly

Publisher: Chester Music

Motion (2009)
Commissioned by Filharmonic Hall, Krakow Poland
St. Rose Music Publishing
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
7 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s)   

Programme Note
Nico Muhly Motion (2009)
Orlando Gibbons’s verse anthem See, see the Word is incarnate is one of my favorite pieces of text setting: Gibbons divides up Godfrey Goodman’s verses into solo bits for solo or coupled countertenors, who weave in and out of a texture of viols. Then, the chorus comes in at the end of each verse, like a 1960s girl group, echoing the soloist: “let us welcome such a guest!” “good will towards men!” Knowing when to come in was always an adventure for me as a chorister; I memorized everything and then would get entranced by the soloists (how can you not get drawn into a line like “See, O see the fresh wounds, the gored blood, the prick of thorns, the print of nails”?) and miss my entrance. This piece, Motion, tries to capture the nervous energy of obsessive counting.

The piece is built on little repeated fragments from the Gibbons, as well as an extended quotation and ornamentation of one of the verses, where the viola and the cello criss-cross one another and the other instruments create a messy grid of anxious quavers. The piece ends ecstatically, using as its primary cell Gibbons’s melody “in the sight of multitudes a glorious ascension.”

The title comes from a vision of Christ’s reign: “the blind have sight and cripples have their motion” – the word “motion”, in Gibbons’s setting (and my appropriation), comprising three syllables.

Motion is dedicated to the wonderful Britten Sinfonia and lasts seven minutes.

Preview the score

  • Ensemble
    Aurora Orchestra
    Thomas Gould (electric violin)
    Nicholas Collon
  • 07 SEP 2016
    Caird Hall, Dundee, Scotland, UK
    Scottish Ensemble

    Other Dates:
    8 September - Eden Court Theatre and Cinema, Inverness, Scotland, UK
    10 September - Theatre Royal, Dumfries, Scotland, UK
    11 September - RSNO Centre, Glasgow, Scotland, UK
  • 20 DEC 2015
    MInimalism Unwrapped
    King's Place, London
    Aurora Orchestra
    Nicholas Collon, conductor
  • 31 JUL 2013
    London Aurora Orchestra
    Nicholas Collon, conductor
  • 02 FEB 2013
    Annandale On Hudson, NY
    Bard College Conservatory of Music
  • 29 NOV 2012
    Philadelphia, PA
    Temple University
    Jay Krush, conductor
  • 09 OCT 2012
    The Digitorium, Highland Heights, KY
    Constella Festival Players
  • 13 JAN 2012
    The Sage, Gateshead
    Northern Sinfonia
    Nicholas Collon, conductor
  • 05 MAY 2011
    King's Place, London
    Aurora Orchestra
    Nicholas Collon, conductor

    Other Dates:
    7 May - King's Place, London

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.