Repertoire Search

Augusta Read Thomas

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Of Paradise and Light (2010)
G Schirmer Inc
Sub Category
String Orchestra
Year Composed
5 Minutes
Programme Note
Augusta Read Thomas Of Paradise and Light (2010)
September 8, 2010
Seattle Symphony Orchestra
Gerard Schwarz, conductor
Seattle, WA

Related Works:
   Of Paradise and Light for string orchestra
   Of Paradise and Light for cello ensemble

The work on tonight’s program, Of Paradise and Light, is a world premiere orchestral transcription of Read Thomas’ 2008 setting of e e cummings’ poem, (kiss me), for girls’ chorus. Thomas describes this new version as a work loosely in the tradition of Barber’s Adagio for Strings: one which draws on the subtle and nuanced colors of the Orchestra’s string sections to create a soulful work of reflection, “as though a sliver of paradise and light came down to shine upon a garden of colorful flowers.”

PROGRAM NOTE copyright © Seattle Symphony

  • 27 FEB 2014
    Woolsey Hall, New Haven, CT
    The New Haven Symphony
    William Boughton, conductor
  • 18 AUG 2013
    Bloomington, IN
    Indiana University
    Cliff Colnot, conductor
  • 12 APR 2013
    Langhorne, PA
    Cairn University
    Joseph Caminiti, conductor
  • 10 JAN 2013
    Tampa, FL
    University of S. Florida
    William Wiedrich, conductor
  • 18 AUG 2012
    Albany, NY
    NYSSSA Orchestra
    Luis Biava, conductor
  • 26 MAY 2012
    Chicago, IL
    University of Chicago Symphony Orchestra
    Barbara Schubert, conductor

    Other Dates:
    27 May - Chicago, IL
  • 18 MAY 2012
    Seattle, WA
    Seattle Symphony
    Gerard Schwarz, conductor
  • 25 SEP 2011
    Adrian, MI
    Adrian Symphony Orchestra
    John Thomas Dodson, conductor
  • 08 SEP 2010
    Of Paradise and Light World Premiere
    Of Paradise and Light, for String Orchestra
    Seattle, WA
    Seattle Symphony
    Gerard Schwarz, conductor

    Other Dates:
    9,10 September - Seattle, WA
  • Of Paradise and Light
    Seattle Symphony
    Gerard Schwarz, conductor

About seven minutes long, this is music at once approachable in its basically tonal idiom and original in its freshly imagined orchestral textures, each string line independent, yet seemingly propelled and enlivened by its companions.
Bernard Jacobson, The Seattle Times,9/9/2010
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.