Repertoire Search

Sofia Gubaidulina

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Repentance (2008)
Work Notes
Available in the USA and Canada only
Hans Sikorski Russian Works
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
25 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
   Study Score
   Set of Parts

Programme Note
Sofia Gubaidulina Repentance (2008)
February 22 2009
Members of the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra
San Francisco, CA

The Italian term "ravvedimento" is behind Repentance's English title, which only indirectly informs us of the content and nature of the composition. Ravvedimento is the title of a 2007 composition by Gubaidulina for cello and guitar quartet, which the composer adapted for cello, 3 guitars and double bass. Ravvedimento was composed for cellist Ivan Monighetti who premiered it together with the guitar ensemble "quasi fantasia" in Tranekaer, Denmark. The title, according to Gubaidulina, means about the same as regret — regret because the much-occupied composer, busy with new works, had to postpone the project for so long before she could finally finish it.

Related Works:

  • Soloist(s)
    David Tanenbaum
  • 03 APR 2016
    Manhattan School of Music
    Guitar Plus and Manhattan School of Music
    Jillian Bloom, Cellist Samuel Zagnit, Bassist; David Starobin, conductor
  • 07 JUL 2010
    Repentance New York Premiere
    New York Guitar Seminar
    Mannes College, New York, NY
    Andrea Lee, cello; Kevin Weng-Yew Mayner, bass; David Tanenbaum, Laura Oltman, and Michael Newman, guitars

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.