Repertoire Search

Simon Holt

Publisher: Chester Music

Telarañas (2009)
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
11 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
   Full Score

Programme Note
Simon Holt Telarañas (2009)
'Telarañas' (the Spanish for cobwebs) is a duo for violin and cello written for and dedicated to Jakob Kullberg and Jack Liebeck. Much of the music is taken from other parts of a cycle of string pieces called 'Terrain', to which this is the penultimate part. The cycle begins with 'String sextet: the torturer's horse', followed by a quintet of piano, violin, viola, cello and bass; 'everything turns away'. There will then follow a string quartet (as yet unwritten) and the string trio, 'Amapolas' (Poppies) and then this duo. The final piece is a solo for viola, 'mantis'. The material used will cross all six pieces like a giant web. 'Telarañas' lasts approximately 11'.


...a beautiful performance of Telarañas (Spanish for cobwebs)...interest[ed] in the intricate patterns found in nature. The piece makes much of the timbral overlap between cello and violin, and relates to a wider 'web' of chamber pieces. I, for one, can't wait for their completion.
Guy Dammann, The Guardian,11/25/2010
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.