Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Snapshots (2009)
Commissioned by the Scottish International Piano Competition as the test piece for the 2010 competition
Novello & Co Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
Solo Instrument(s)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Snapshots (2009)
There are many different interpretations of this work – there is not one ‘correct’ way
of playing it. It grew out of an idea when the composer was teaching students the
importance of ‘marking up’ their music and showing them how changing dynamics or
tempi can completely alter the character of the music.

There are five snapshots which are preceded by a short introduction; the same motive
forms a link between some of the sections, and at the end a short coda.

There is an obvious parallel with ‘Pictures from an Exhibition’, but here, rather than
walking through a museum to admire the works of art imagine leafing through a
photograph and contemplating old snapshots.

Each performer should make the choice of tempo, dynamics, sound quality (staccato
versus legato), phrasing and pedalling that will describe the nature of these snapshots.

Thea Musgrave

Score sample

  • 22 SEP 2018
    Leicester International Music Festival
    New Walk Museum & Art Gallery, Leicester, UK
  • 02 JUN 2018
    St. Saviourgate Unitarian Chapel, York
    Late Music Ensemble
    Jennifer Cohenm, flute; Alice Masterson, piano; William Descrettes, cello; Lynette Quek, electronics
  • 04 NOV 2011
    Kemnay Church Centre, Scotland
    Peter Johansson (piano)
  • 16 OCT 2011
    Gottlieb Hall, Chicago
    CUBE Ensemble
    Henriët Fourie
  • 13 SEP 2010
    Snapshots World Premiere
    Scottish International Piano Competition
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
  • 13 SEP 2010
    Snapshots World Premiere
    Scottish International Piano Competition 2010
    Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, Glasgow
    Competitors in the Scottish International Piano Competition 2010 (Stage 2)

Thea Musgrave’s specially commissioned Snapshots is convincingly made a welcome addition to the repertoire.
Jeremy Nicholas, Gramophone Magazine,01/04/2011
All eight [semi-finalists] had to play Thea Musgrave’s commission, Snapshots, where she deliberately left blanks, as it were, demanding creativity from all pianists. We had every version under the sun, from Impressionism to the metallic percussiveness of Prokofiev.
Michael Tumelty, The Herald (Glasgow),15/09/2010
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.