Repertoire Search

Augusta Read Thomas

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Jubilee (2010)
Work Notes
Audio clip courtesy of The Juilliard School
G Schirmer Inc
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
18 Minutes
Programme Note
Augusta Read Thomas Jubilee (2010)
First performance:
Juilliard Orchestra
Xian Zhang, conductor
New York, NY
April 30, 2010

I. fanfare: awaking rituals
II. caprice: effervescent arabesques
III. reverie: prayer for a departed friend
IV. gambol: whimsical virtuosic romp

Each of the four movements may be performed independently of the rest of the work, as short, stand-alone orchestral compositions by their individual movement names. Note that the various movements have slightly differing instrumental requirements. When played separately, they may require a smaller orchestra than the forces that are needed to perform all four movements of Jubilee.

  • 18 MAR 2017
    American Voices organization
    Ashgabat, Turkmenistán
    Michael Lewanski, conductor
  • 04 MAY 2012
    Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
    Andreas Lonnqvist, conductor

    Other Dates:
    3,5 May 2013 - Sweden
  • 02 MAY 2012
    Jubilee Country Premiere
    Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
    Andreas Lonnqvist, conductor
  • 15 APR 2012
    New Albany, OH
    New Albany Symphony
    Luis Biava, conductor
  • 06 MAR 2011
    Southport, CT
    Greater Bridgeport Youth Orchestra
    Chris Hisey, conductor
  • 13 NOV 2010
    Chicago, IL
    DePaul University
    Cliff Colnot, conductor
  • 30 APR 2010
    Jubilee World Premiere
    Juilliard School, New York, NY
    Juilliard Orchestra
    Xian Zhang, conductor

...Jubilee is an electric, joyous piece.
Alex Ross,,13/07/2010
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.