Repertoire Search

Magnus Lindberg

Publisher: Chester Music

Kraft (1985)
commissioned by the Helsinki Festival
Work Notes
recipient of the Nordic Music Prize (1988); winner of the International Rostrum of Composers (1986)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Helsinki
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
27 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
clarinet (Eb, bcl, dbcl), 2 percussion, piano, cello, conductor, sound control
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Magnus Lindberg Kraft (1985)

Kraft is a piece written for a soloist group and large orchestra in 1983-85. The piece was commisioned by the Helsinki Festival and first performed the 4th of September in 1985 by the Finnish Radio Orchestra and the TOIMII-ensmble under the direction of Esa-Pekka Salonen.

All the musical material of the piece has been prepared with a micro-computer, with programmes written in FORTH allowing a very flexible control of rhythm and chord processes. The programme is based on a formalization of rules for creation of rhythmic events, gestures and temporal processes, and an environment allowing a graphical output for metric notation. Similar rule-based programmes control the creation of harmonic material by a comparison to previously defined and accepted chordal successions given by the composer.

The control of amplification and spatialization of the soloists during the performance is done with an application written in PreFORM and running on a Macintosh computer allowing a precise control of movement in the hall in real time.

Please follow this link for more information concerning Kraft..

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Toimii Ensemble
    Magnus Lindberg, piano
    Esa-Pekka Salonen
  • Ensemble
    Toimii Ensemble / Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
    Esa-Pekka Salonen
“Kraft” (1983-85) is a sound barrage for large orchestra, with soloists playing amplified cello, clarinet, piano and percussion — including a motley collection of instruments like furniture legs, brake drums, bolts and what not. The performance of this lurching, intricate and sonically wondrous half-hour work was fascinating to hear and fun to watch. [...]Though “Kraft” bustles with heady, impish music, it is a brilliant, serious-minded contemporary work.
Anthony Tommasini, New York Times,08/10/2010
'…with explosive gestures, vivid sonorities and a huge battery of percussion arrayed around the auditorium, Kraft still packs a powerful punch…'
Andrew Clements, Guardian,21/05/2004
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.