Repertoire Search

Nico Muhly

Publisher: Chester Music

Step Team (2007)
Commissioned by Chicago Symphony Orchestra MusicNOW and Cliff Colnot, conductor
St. Rose Music Publishing
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
18 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Nico Muhly Step Team (2007)
Stepping is a form of almost militaristic dancing involving the entire body as well as the voice. The routines are highly choreographed and precise but maintain an expressive freedom that comes out of the energy required to pull off the moves. In writing this piece for the Chicago Symphony MusicNOW, I wanted to avoid too much delicate, pointillistic writing and instead focused on making the nine players function as one team with a singular rhythmic agenda. Whenever the Chicago Symphony comes to New York, I am always impressed with the massive steakhouse-style proportions of the brass sound, so, this score features the bass trombone as a guide for the harmonic and lyrical material.

At a certain point in the piece, the rhythmic unisons begin to break down, and individual players or groups of players start slowing down or speeding up against the pulse. The bass trombone works as a unifying element here, announcing the changes between sections. Some scattered pulses ensue, and the brass section continuously shepherds the other instruments back into line. Step Team ends with a duet between the bass trombone and the piano, with a series of ornaments from the other players.

Nico Muhly

Preview the score

  • Ensemble
    Aurora Orchestra
    Thomas Gould (electric violin)
    Nicholas Collon
  • 05 MAR 2018
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Cantus Ensemble
    Ivan Josip Skender, conductor
  • 06 MAR 2015
    Baltimore, MD
    Peabody Modern Orchestra
  • 09 OCT 2012
    The Digitorium, Highland Heights, KY
    Constella Festival Players
  • 09 OCT 2010
    LSO St Lukes, London
    Aurora Orchestra

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.