Repertoire Search

Augusta Read Thomas

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Rush (for viola) (2004)
G Schirmer Inc
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
2 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Augusta Read Thomas Rush (for viola) (2004)
Composer’s Note:
Rush for solo violin was commissioned by Saint Paul Sunday/American Public Media Radio for Rachel Barton Pine and was premiered on the radio on April 17th, 2005 by Rachel Barton Pine. The work, approximately 2 minutes in duration, is a kind of rich fanfare which shows off the virtuosity of the soloist.

I was thinking of coffee rush and sugar rush images when I composed this work as well as the dazzling and profoundly nuanced technical skill of Rachel. Rachel and I have worked together on many works and it was a pure joy to compose this for her.

— Augusta Read Thomas

Related works:
   Rush for violin
   Rush for viola

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.