Repertoire Search

Michael Gordon; David Lang; Julia Wolfe - Red Poppy

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Water (2008)
Work Notes
Movements available separately
Red Poppy
Chorus and Orchestra/Ensemble
Year Composed
1 Hours 16 Minutes
English, Hebrew
Programme Note
February 1 2009
Ars Nova
Athelas Sinfonietta
Paul Hillier, conductor
Copenhagen, Denmark

In Eight Parts:
Water (Michael Gordon, David Lang, Julia Wolfe)
   1. My Soul (David Lang)
   2. Water Instrumental (Heavy Water) (Michael Gordon)
   3. He Saw a Skull (Michael Gordon)
   4. Before Roll, Ocean (David Lang)
   5. Give Me (David Lang)
   6. Thirst (Julia Wolfe)
   7. Roll, Ocean (David Lang)
   8. Tephillat Geshem (Prayer for Rain) (Michael Gordon)

Composers' Note:
Water is a lover's tears, an unquenchable thirst, a fight for survival, a prayer for rain. Our piece Water is a meditation on the poetry of water: what it means to have it, how we misuse it, and how we struggle for it. Rain falls. Tears flow. A skull is found in a river. A man thirsts.

Water is an exploration through music, staging and projection of how dependent we are upon water in our world, and how uneasy our dependence really is. Much of our dependence is of course physical; at the same time, the hope for water, or the lack of it, can be a spiritual construct as well. Our piece explores the water we have and the water we need, the water we control and the water that controls us.

We have always lived with water in a kind of fragile equilibrium. We have too much. We have none. A rich man calls for ice in his water, next to a poor man who thirsts. It is a precarious balance, between blessing and curse, between life and death, between plenty and scarcity.

— Michael Gordon, David Lang, Julia Wolfe

  • 29 NOV 2011
    Porto, Portugal
    Theater of Voices

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.