Repertoire Search

Michael Gordon

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Tephillat Geshem (Prayer for Rain) (2008)
Work Notes
Part VIII of 'Water'
Red Poppy
Chorus and Orchestra/Ensemble
Year Composed
13 Minutes
Programme Note
Michael Gordon Tephillat Geshem (Prayer for Rain) (2008)
February 1 2009
Ars Nova
Athelas Sinfonietta
Paul Hillier, conductor
Copenhagen, Denmark

Old Testament, Isaiah 41:17, 29:18, 41:18

Part of Water (Michael Gordon, David Lang, Julia Wolfe)

   1. My Soul (David Lang)
   2. Water Instrumental (Heavy Water) (Michael Gordon)
   3. He Saw a Skull (Michael Gordon)
   4. Before Roll, Ocean (David Lang)
   5. Give Me (David Lang)
   6. Thirst (Julia Wolfe)
   7. Roll, Ocean (David Lang)
   8. Tephillat Geshem (Prayer for Rain) (Michael Gordon)

Composers' Note:

Water is a lover's tears, an unquenchable thirst, a fight for survival, a prayer for rain. Our piece Water is a meditation on the poetry of water: what it means to have it, how we misuse it, and how we struggle for it. Rain falls. Tears flow. A skull is found in a river. A man thirsts.

Water is an exploration through music, staging and projection of how dependent we are upon water in our world, and how uneasy our dependence really is. Much of our dependence is of course physical; at the same time, the hope for water, or the lack of it, can be a spiritual construct as well. Our piece explores the water we have and the water we need, the water we control and the water that controls us.

We have always lived with water in a kind of fragile equilibrium. We have too much. We have none. A rich man calls for ice in his water, next to a poor man who thirsts. It is a precarious balance, between blessing and curse, between life and death, between plenty and scarcity.

— Michael Gordon, David Lang, Julia Wolfe

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.