Repertoire Search

Benet Casablancas

Publisher: UME

Three Interludes for Orchestra (2012)
Unión Musical Ediciones
Sub Category
Chamber Orchestra / Sinfonietta (over 10 instruments)
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Programme Note
Benet Casablancas Three Interludes for Orchestra (2012)
"Tres Interludios para orquesta" was commissioned by Fundación Autor and the Spanish Association of Symphonic Orchestras (AEOS) for its World Premiere in the 2012-2013 season.

The score consists of three movements – Pastorale (Tranquillo), Scherzo (Con moto) and Memento e Corale (Lentissimo, Ampio e tenuto) – and has an approximate duration of 14 minutes. The spaciousness and transparency of its textures, the clearness of its harmony and a general calm and quiet tone of the first and final parts set a contrast with the vigour and rhythmical vividness of its central scherzo.

During the course of the piece, the shape of chamber writing coexists with the greatness of orchestral peaks. The last section embraces a lower and expressive tone, which ends with a great chorale that will lead to a more contemplative coda, which fades into silence.

“It shows the atonality and accused dramatic quality (especially in the third piece), which dominate the orchestral writing of the composer from Sabadell, enriched by a pitch atmosphere of neo-impressionistic quality and a healthy rhythmical energy. The concert version contributed with intensity and performance depth, which we hope to deepen in future performances and, which motivated the greeting of Casablancas.”

Germán Gan - Audio Clásica

  • 26 NOV 2017
    CATALUNYA RADIO (Programa: Transmissió des de l’auditori de Barcelona)
    Orquesta Sinfonica de Barcelona
    Kazushi Ono, conductor
  • 24 NOV 2017
    OBC, Temporada 2017-2018
    L´Auditori, Barcelona
    Orquesta Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya
    Kazushi Ono, conductor

    Other Dates:
    25,26 November - L´Auditori, Barcelona
  • 16 OCT 2015
    Auditorio de A Coruña.
    Orquesta Sinfonica de Galicia
    Dima Slobodeniouk, conductor

    Other Dates:
    17 October - Auditorio de A Coruña.
  • 26 APR 2014
    Pavelló poli-esportiu de Puig-Reig, Barcelona.
    Joven Orquesta Nacional de Catalunya
    Manuel Valdivieso, conductor

    Other Dates:
    29 April - L'Auditori, Barcelona
    27 April - Teatre Fortuny de Reus, Tarragona.
  • 05 APR 2013
    Concerts Simfònics al Palau
    Teatre Municipal La Faràndula (Sabadell)
    Orquestra Simfonica del Valles
    Ruben Gimeno, conductor

    Other Dates:
    6 April - Palau de la Musica Catalana (Barcelona)

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.