Repertoire Search

Aulis Sallinen

Publisher: Novello & Co

Chamber Music VII ("Cruselliana") (2008), 93
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloists and Orchestra
Sub Category
Soloists and String Orchestra
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Programme Note
Aulis Sallinen Chamber Music VII ("Cruselliana") (2008), 93
CHAMBER MUSIC VII ("Cruselliana") Op. 93
for solo wind quintet and string orchestra

Chamber Music VII belongs to the series of Sallinen´s compositions called Chamber Music. They all are written for a (small) string orchestra and a soloist or a group of soloists. This composition for a wind quintet and strings was commissioned in 2008 by the Crusell Music Week, organized every summer in Uusikaupunki, a small town on the west coast of Finland.

B.H. Crusell was born in Uusikaupunki in 1775 and became internationally known as a clarinettist and composer. For that reason the festival carrying his name is mostly devoted to the music written for the (wood)wind instruments. The charming seaside town happens to also be the school town of Aulis Sallinen where he started his musical activities as a schoolboy, including chamber and orchestral music (violin and piano), different sorts of dance music and bands etc. Many of those elements he musically grew up with can be heard in the Chamber Music VII, a piece devoted to his artistic cradle.

Sallinen used as a part of the motif-building the intervals derived from the name BErnDt hEnrik CrusEll. It is maybe not necessary to the listener to know this; it is rather just one of the composer’s methods to navigate the music’s never-ending ocean.

Chamber Music VII was premiered in the new church of Uusikapunki on the 31st of July 2009 by Petri Alanko (flute), Jorma Valjakka (oboe), Christoffer Sundqvist (clarinet), Jussi Särkkä (bassoon), Esa Tapani (horn) and the Kuhmo Virtuosi conducted by John Storgårds.

  • Ensemble
    Jyväskylä Sinfonia
    Arto Noras, Alexis Roman, Ville Matvejeff, Ralf Gothoni
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.