Repertoire Search

Britta Byström

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

A Walk After Dark (2014)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
23 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Britta Byström A Walk After Dark (2014)
Just before A Walk After Dark, I wrote a solo piece for viola called Dream Day – a Sigmund Freud term referring to the day prior to a dream, from which the dream collects its material. The concerto thus became "the dream", a journey away from everyday life, where disparate elements meet in a logic of its own. It is written in six movements, with small "bridges" in between. The soloist – the "dreamer" – leads the music in the movements, while the orchestra takes command in the "bridges" and moves the soloist to a new stage of dreaming.
I have used a West-african melody, often played on the string instrument n'goni, in the "bridges". In the movements, there are references to the Swedish composer Anders Eliasson, who passed away 2013. There are also traces of a Swedish hymn, "Bereden väg for Herran" ("Prepare the Way, O Zion!"), which I discovered resembled the n'goni-melody. The piece is dedicated to the memory of Anders Eliasson.

Britta Byström

  • 13 APR 2016
    A Walk After Dark Country Premiere
    6th Brandenburger Biennale Da-capo Price
    Stendal, Germany
    Brandenburger Symphoniker
    Ellen Nisbeth, viola; Peter Gülke, conductor

    Other Dates:
    14-16 April - Brandenburg, Germany
  • 02 FEB 2014
    Olofström, Sweden
    The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
    Ellen Nisbeth (viola), Daniel Hällström (baryton); Daniel Blendulf, conductor

    Other Dates:
    15 February - Berwaldhallen, Stockholm, Sweden
    18 February - Helsingborg, Sweden
    19 February - Ängelholm, Sweden
    20 February - Oskarshamn, Sweden
    25 April - Hudiksvall, Sweden
    23 April - Kalmar, Sweden
    26 April - Sandviken, Sweden
    27 April - Hofors, Sweden
    23 May - Mölndal, Sweden

It is a concerto that, in a pleasantly frank way, challenges one of the literary masters of the past, Berlioz and his “Harold in Italy”. She does so with an extreme authority.
Erik Wallrup, SvD,25/11/2014
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.