Repertoire Search

Kevin Volans

Publisher: Chester Music

viola:piano (2009)
Commissioned by the Wigmore Hall for the composer's 60th birthday with funds from ACNI
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
20 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Kevin Volans viola:piano (2009)
viola:piano is one of a set of 6 pieces which I wrote in 2008 and 2009. Two of the others, violin:piano and cello:piano require the instrumentalists to play at different tempi from each other throughout. In this piece the players are playing together, but their material is, for the most part, quite different, and for the first 12 minutes, the two parts have little in common. It is only after this that they begin a more conventional contrapuntal relationship. This is the first of these pieces to be premiered. It was commissioned by the Wigmore Hall with funding from the Arts Council of Ireland. The piece is dedicated to Mary Rörich.

Kevin Volans

Score sample

  • Soloist(s)
    Waldo Alexander, violin/viola; Jill Richards, piano
It's spare, frugal music, perfectly calculated; Volans' sensibility is a very distinctive, rather special one.
Andrew Clements, The Guardian,02/11/2009
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.