Repertoire Search

Tan Dun

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Internet Symphony: Eroica (for orchestra) (2009)
Commissioned by Google/You Tube
G Schirmer Inc
Year Composed
4 Minutes
Programme Note
Tan Dun Internet Symphony: Eroica (for orchestra) (2009)
London Symphony
Related works:
   Internet Symphony: Eroica (for symphonic band)

April 15 2009
YouTube Symphony Orchestra
Tan Dun, conductor
Carnegie Hall, New York, NY

I. Allegretto - 0:30
II. Dolce Molto - 0:55
III. Allegro - 1:25
IV. Allegro Vivace - 1:15

In 2008, Google and YouTube commissioned Tan Dun to write Internet Symphony ‘Eroica’ as a part of the YouTube Symphony Orchestra project. Musicians from around the world were invited to audition by submitting videos of their interpretations of Internet Symphony to be judged by members of leading international orchestras. There were more than 3,000 auditions from more than 70 countries. The project culminated in a performance at Carnegie Hall on April 15, 2009. The performance was webcast and is available on YouTube. More than 22 million people from 200 countries on six continents have experienced Tan Dun’s feeling of a global music community, encapsulated in Internet Symphony.

"The Internet is an invisible Silk Road, joining different cultures from around the world - East or West, North or South. And this project has created a classical music phenomenon, bringing together musical heroes from all corners of the globe."

—Tan Dun

For more information see:

The piece, about four minutes long, was commissioned in part by Google and has been criticized as being little more than a gimmick. But its high energy and well-crafted spirit of playfulness fit in well with this program. Subtitled “Eroica,” the “Internet Symphony” quotes Beethoven and presents itself as a kind of artifact of orchestral experience, designed specifically with the performer in mind. Its It is a fun piece of music meant to be fun for the participants as well as the audience – and it succeeds in that respect.
Carlton Wilkinson, Asbury Park Press,10/03/2017
We heard Tan’s four-minute Internet Symphony, written for the YouTube website, which invited cyberspace musicians of every stripe to audition for a collective performance online. A terrestrial premiere took place in Carnegie Hall in New York last week. Now it was the LSO’s turn. The soggy trifle, whipped up round brake drum clamour and signature notes from Beethoven’s Eroica symphony, was dispatched with panache under the composer’s leaping baton.
Geoff Brown, The Times,23/04/2009
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.