Repertoire Search

Peter Dickinson

Publisher: Novello & Co

Outcry (1969)
commissioned by the Coventry Philharmonic Society with funds from the Arts Council
Text Writer
Blake (no.1), Hardy (nos.2&4) and Clare (nos.3&5)
Novello & Co Ltd
Chorus and Orchestra/Ensemble
Year Composed
35 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Peter Dickinson Outcry (1969)
1. From "AUGURIES OF INNOCENCE" (William Blake)
2. THE BLINDED BIRD (Thomas Hardy)
3. BADGER (John Clare)
4. HORSES ABROAD (Thomas Hardy)

Nature is the link between these poems, but the villain of them all is man. The first four poems describe examples, repulsive and poignant, of how "some to misery are born". The end of Hardy's poem 'Horses Aboard' catches the futility of mass slaughter, and here, as elsewhere, "man's inhumanity to man" is also implied. In this context, the last poem, by John Clare, shows man at odds both with nature and with God. "Outcry" is not only the sound of the hunted animal, or the protest of an onlooker, but also the horrified recognition of man as the outlaw and the outsider.

The music often has a slow, ritual quality; the work was in fact composed at the same time as a setting of the Mass, and there are deliberate relationships between them. The selection from Blake's "Auguries of Innocence" is linked to the Kyries; 'The Blinded Bird' to the Agnus Dei; 'Badger' can be seen as a somewhat perverted form of the Gloria; 'Nature's Hymn to the Deity' recalls the Sanctus.

The first movement is scored mainly for brass; the second, for strings with woodwind and horns; the third represents the sustained violence of the narrative with a battery of sound, including whistles; the fourth movement is a contralto solo, with strings and piano, while, in the final setting, simple blocks of slowly moving sound build up towards a majestic affirmation, which, at the end, is destroyed.

© Peter Dickinson

  • Ensemble
    The London Concert Choir/ City of London Sinfonia
    Meriel Dickinson, mezzo-soprano
    Nicholas Cleobury
    Albany Troy:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.