Repertoire Search

Jay Greenberg

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Four Scenes (2008), 11
Commissioned by Great Mountains Music Festival for Sejong Soloists
G. Schirmer/Lost Penny Publications
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Programme Note
Jay Greenberg Four Scenes (2008), 11
Composer note:
In early 2008 I was asked to write a dramatic piece for singer or narrator and string orchestra, drawing on some kind of Korean element (for performance at a music festival there). Knowing little about the nation or its culture or language, I turned to Korean folklore for inspiration — our house contains volumes of folk tales from many cultures — and learned some interesting facts. Not only did the folktales embody a quite different set of values and "just so stories" than those I was familiar with, but no Brothers Grimm had ever come along to bowdlerise them. The original violence, tragedy, and sex (which had undoubtedly existed to a much greater extent in European folklore as well before the Victorians came along) were still intact, and the stories seemed — to my Western eyes, anyway — refreshing and free of the clichés I had become familiar with.

The singer or narrator was to disappear, and I chose to reduce the string orchestra to eight soloists — for which I later made amends with the Symphony for Strings — but what emerged was nonetheless what could be considered a set of musical folktales. Each one focuses on developing certain themes or ideas — we could call them "morals" — and the set is infused with more atomic, recurring motives — let's say "values." Each piece, moreover, has a separate character: by turns assertive, whimsical, pathetic, and nostalgic. While it would be difficult to correlate any of the scenes to a literal story (let alone an actual folktale), each one has (I hope) a fairly obvious narrative progression towards final resolution, and the last piece's C-major fadeout has a definite sense of "over the hills and far away."

Four Scenes was commissioned by the Sejong Soloists and received its world première by that ensemble on 15 August 2008 at the Great Mountains Music Festival.

— Jay Greenberg

I. Allegro (ca. 4')
II. Presto (ca. 1'45")
III. Adagio non troppo (ca. 5'30")
IV. Andante con moto (ca. 4'30")

August 15, 2008
Sejong Soloists
Great Mountains Music Festival
South Korea

  • 20 JUN 2009
    Norfolk Chamber Music Festival
    Norfolk, CT
    Sejong Soloists
  • 25 APR 2009
    Four Scenes Country Premiere
    Moscow, Russia
    Chamber Orchestra Kremlin
    Misha Rachlevsky, conductor
  • 20 FEB 2009
    Hotchkiss School, Lakeville, CT
    Sejong Soloists
  • 02 DEC 2008
    Zankel Hall, New York, NY
    Sejong Soloists
  • 15 AUG 2008
    Four Scenes World Premiere
    Great Mountains Music Festival
    South Korea
    International Sejong Soloists

The piece climaxed in the third "Scene," a most hauntingly beautiful, dramatic adagio where the strings weep bitterly. The narrative melody evoked tears in listeners, particularly Korean ones who share a sixth sense for "han" — a cornerstone of the Korean spirit that can be roughly described as pervasive, begrudged sadness imbedded in a country whose history is marked by wars and division....Four Scenes is highly deserving of many more performances.
Lee Hyo-won, Korea Times,17/08/2008
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.