Repertoire Search

Sofia Gubaidulina

Publisher: G. Schirmer

“In Tempus Praesens” Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (2007)
Work Notes
Available in the USA and Canada only
Hans Sikorski Russian Works
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
33 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Sofia Gubaidulina “In Tempus Praesens” Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (2007)
Just like many 20th-century creators, the problem of time concerns me to the greatest extent possible. I am concerned with how time changes in connection with the changing psychological conditions of man, how it elapses in nature, in the world, in society, in dreams, in art.

Art is always situated between sleep and reality, between wisdom and folly, between the statics and dynamics of everything that exists.

In ordinary life we never have present time, only the perpetual transition from the past to the future.

And only in sleep, in the religious experience and in art are we able to experience lasting present time.

I think that musical form serves this very function: during its course it undergoes many events. A few of these turn out to be most important. (I call these architectonic nodes of form.) And they can make a kind of generalized shape, the shape of a pyramid, for example. (The episode of ritual sacrifice stands at the pinnacle of the pyramid of “In tempus praesens.”) The integral experiencing of this pyramidal form produces lasting present time.

--“In tempus praesens”
--“for the present time”

--Sofia Gubaidulina

  • Ensemble
    London Symphony Orchestra
    Anne-Sophie Mutter (Violin)
    Valery Gergiev
    Deutsche Grammophon:
Gubaidulina's instrumental palette here is vivid and dark-hued--the orchestra is stripped of violins, the better to throw a spotlight on the soloist--and her rhetoric is gripping. In Thursday's masterful performance, In Tempus Praesens came off as a work of gritty, mysterious force.
Joshua Kosman, San Francisco Chronicle,01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.