Repertoire Search

Geoffrey Burgon

Publisher: Chester Music

Cello Concerto (2009)
Chester Music Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
21 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Programme Note
Geoffrey Burgon Cello Concerto (2009)
As I was writing this piece I gradually became aware that the music was quite
unconsciously being influenced by music from the ‘film noir’ movies that I’d seen in
my youth. Having realised this I began to view the soloist as a protagonist in such a
film, being hunted and pursued through dark streets on a rainy winter night. In the
slow movement, the scene changes to a threatening forest, and in the final movement
returns to an urban setting, until the pursued is finally ‘released’ and enters a kind of
Hollywood heaven.

Geoffrey Burgon

Score preview:

  • Ensemble
    City of London Sinfonia
    Sarah Connolly, mezzo soprano; Philip Dukes, viola; Josephine Knight, cello
    Rumon Gamba
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.