Repertoire Search

Hugh Wood

Publisher: Chester Music

Tenebrae (2002)
This work was written for Geoffrey Hill on his 70th birthday.
Text Writer
Geoffrey Hill
Chester Music Ltd
Chorus and Orchestra/Ensemble
Year Composed
15 Minutes
soprano, alto, tenor, baritone

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Hugh Wood Tenebrae (2002)
I have admired the poetry of Geoffrey Hill throughout the many years of our friendship. We are exact contemporaries, born ten days apart, so our 70th birthdays came up close in the same year. I was honoured when Geoffrey borrowed the title of a piece of mine - Scenes from Comus - for the book of poems he inscribed to me. I was meanwhile working on a setting of his Tenebrae which I didn't finish writing until the end of July 2003.

Tenebrae is a sequence of eight poems in the collection of that name published in 1978. I set it for a small choir from whom the soloists are to be drawn: their solo numbers are sometimes accompanied by only one instrument. No.2 is a baritone solo, accompanied by cello. No.4 is a duet between soprano and alto, accompanied by flute and viola. No.5 is a tenor solo with violin. The first and sixth choruses are unaccompanied. The fullest scoring (for string trio and wind quartet) is reached with the last two numbers: the finale is particularly sympathetic for musicians, with its evocation of Music herself - "Angel of Tones, Medusa, Queen of the Air".

Hugh Wood

Preview the score

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.