Repertoire Search

Richard Rodney Bennett

Publisher: Novello & Co

Four Poems of Thomas Campion (2007)
Commissioned by the BBC for the BBC Proms
Novello & Co Ltd
Chorus a cappella / Chorus plus 1 instrument
Year Composed
13 Minutes

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Richard Rodney Bennett Four Poems of Thomas Campion (2007)
Thomas Campion (1567-1619) was a poet, musician and physician. His works include four Books of Airs, for which he wrote both words and music.The authorship of the fourth poem of this cycle, The Hours of Sleepy Night, was formerly uncertain, but is now generally accepted as that of Campion. The four poems were written between 1613 and 1618.

  • Ensemble
    BBC Singers
    Paul Brough
...Bennett comes up with a huge range of striking colours and translucent textures to match words perfectly designed for music. The scoring for unaccompanied choir is hugely imaginative, the individual parts clean-edged and well defined.
George Hall, The Independent on Sunday,12/08/2007
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.