Repertoire Search

Bright Sheng

Publisher: G. Schirmer

A Night at the Chinese Opera (2006)
Commissioned by the International Violin Competition of Indianapolis for the 2006 Competition
G Schirmer Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
Piano + 1 Instrument
Year Composed
10 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
   Score and Part(s)

Programme Note
Bright Sheng A Night at the Chinese Opera (2006)

Composer Note:

The basic materials in this work are derived from an instrumental interlude of the well-known Peking Opera, "Farewell My Concubine." In the opera, Princess Yü bids farewell to General Xiang — her lover and master — with a sword dance, during which she kills herself at the climatic point of the dance. Here I imagine the violin part delivers the female singing voice as well as the Peking Opera fiddle, while the piano part often gives the rhythm of the Chinese opera.

— Bright Sheng

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.