Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Delta (2005)
Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Alternate Orchestration

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s)   

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Delta (2005)

Some of my works are created in several stages, where an earlier work or movement are reborn or recomposed as part of a new work.

For instance “Suite for Martin” (1967) for saxophone, amplified accordion and prepared piano - used in a Danish documentary film “Kongens Enghave” - was rearranged by me in 2004 in a new instrumentation for saxophone, cello and piano, and named Melancolia (duration 12 minutes), which became the third movement (with the title MALINCONIA) in an enlarged version from 2005 with the title DELTA (duration around 20 minutes).

A delta is, be nature, moving outwards or rather downwards, downstream. This movement is characteristic for all three works mentioned.

EUFONIA. In the first movement of DELTA the music changes from the light hearted and harmonious towards a darker sound.

In the second movement, NOSTALGIA, this darker colour is intensified, dominating the whole movement.

MALINCONIA, the third and last movement, completes the direction downwards – during six shorter sections – going towards a black edged pessimism (and a “black sound”).

Per Nørgård (2005)

  • 12 OCT 2016
    Camerata Hall, Helsinki Music Center, Finland
    Sikri Lehko, saxophone; Katariina Saarikoski, cello; Maritta Manner, piano
  • 21 AUG 2015
    Nordic Saxophone Festival 2015
    Musiikkitalo, Helsinki, Finland
    Sikri Lehko, saxophone; Katariina Saarikoski, cello; Maritta Manner, piano
  • 11 DEC 2007
    Virtuosi Pela Paz
    Teatro de Santa Isabel,Recife, Brazil
    Copenhagen Ensemble
    Christina Bjørkø, piano; Rafael Altino, viola; Christian Hougaard, saxophone; Kim Bak Dinitzen, cello
  • 11 NOV 2006
    Havartigården, Søllerød, Denmark
    Ensemble Münchausen

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.