Repertoire Search

Augusta Read Thomas

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Passion Prayers (1999)
G Schirmer Inc
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
9 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Programme Note
Augusta Read Thomas Passion Prayers (1999)
Composer Note:
Music of all kinds constantly amazes, surprises, propels and seduces me into a wonderful and powerful journey. I am happiest when I am listening to music and in the process of composing music. I care deeply that music is not anonymous and generic or easily assimilated and just as easily dismissed. I would say that Passion Prayers has urgent, seductive, and compelling qualities of sometimes complex, but always logical thought, allied to sensuous and engaging sonic profiles.

This score is dedicated with admiration and gratitude to the Network for New Music, who commissioned the work and premiered it in Philadelphia on April 11, 1999. Passion Prayers, a nine minute work formed in several sections of varying character, is an homage to the lyrical, expressive, sensitive, eloquent, and poetic qualities of Scott Kluksdahl’s playing.

I would like to express my thanks to Linda Reichert for her vision, dedication, and generosity.

— Augusta Read Thomas


  • Ensemble
    Network for New Music Ensemble
    Scott Kluksdahl (Cello)
    Jan Kryzwicki
    Albany Records:
  • Nimbus Alliance:
[Thomas's work] is an extraordinarily lustrous and intensely mystical piece with a radiant shimmer that recalls Messiaen, although Thomas's means are her own. The chief meditator is the cello, which draws the other six instruments into its ecstatic orbit.
Richard Dyer, The Boston Globe,01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.