Repertoire Search

Augusta Read Thomas

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Daylight Divine (2001)
G Schirmer Inc
Chorus and Orchestra/Ensemble
Year Composed
20 Minutes
children's chorus [or women's chorus]
Programme Note
Augusta Read Thomas Daylight Divine (2001)
Composer’s Note:

Gerard Manley Hopkins was born in 1844 and died in 1889 at the age of 45. His poems illustrate an extraordinary sensitivity to gracefulness and beauty in nature and in mankind. The musicality, honesty, passion, and penetration of the poems of Hopkins attract me to his work for our project.

Knowing that the work would premiere in the Saint-Denis' Basilica, it seemed fitting in so many ways to set these texts as Gerard Manley Hopkins was a Jesuit priest and his poems approach the world with a deep devotion to God.

I tried to set the two texts in an extremely "musical" manner, listening to the sound of the poems and deeply understanding their meaning in my heart and soul.

There is a brief orchestral interlude between the two movements and, throughout the score, the children's chorus is divided into several subdivisions (2,4,6,8, etc.) allowing for rich harmonies, counterpoint, and antiphonal sections.

The words and meanings of these Hopkins texts are so intensely mature while at the same time so playful. For this reason, I used a solo soprano as well as a children's chorus. Having a mature voice in the solo soprano along with young voices seems to capture for me the essence of the poems and their spirituality.

— Augusta Read Thomas

  • 16 FEB 2011
    Sinfonia Finlandia Jyväskylä
    William Boughton, conductor
  • 02 DEC 2010
    New Haven, CT
    New Haven Symphony Orchestra
    William Boughton, conductor

    Other Dates:
    5 December - New Haven, CT
  • 01 DEC 2010
    New Haven, CT
    Fairfield Children's Choir and New Haven Symphony
    Hana Park, soprano; William Boughton, conductor

    Other Dates:
    2 December - New Haven, CT

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.