Repertoire Search

Augusta Read Thomas

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Eagle at Sunrise (2001)
G Schirmer Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
7 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s)   

Programme Note
Augusta Read Thomas Eagle at Sunrise (2001)
Composer’s Note:

Eagle at Sunrise is a modest 7-8 minute work, which features the cello, largely in the higher, registers. The music is immediate, bold, colorful and dramatic. The work celebrates the passionate sound of the strings and is built from a tightly wrought harmonic scheme and its resultant counterpoint.

The spirit of modernity means: contingency — the transitory, the fugitive, the unexpected...modernism implies inward turning and outward reaching — it has both centripetal and centrifugal force...modernism is defined by insatiable hope.

The spirit of America, symbolized by the eagle, our national bird, at sunrise is an image of hope and implicit faith in the inevitability of new beginnings and ardent dreams.

Eagle at Sunrise for string quartet was commissioned by the Koussevitzky Foundation for the Ying String Quartet. The work was premiered in January 2002. The work is dedicated to the memory of Serge and Natalie Koussevitzky and to the members of the Ying String Quartet with admiration and gratitude.
This is movement #1 of Sun Threads.

Sun Threads
Duration: 39'
for string quartet

Eagle at Sunrise — duration: 7'
Invocations — duration: 9'
Fugitive Star — duration: 9'
Rise Chanting — duration: 13'

— Augusta Read Thomas

  • Ensemble
    Ying Quartet
    Quartz Music:
  • 12 SEP 2015
    Pueblo, CO
    Veronika String Quartet

    Other Dates:
    13 September - Colorado Springs, CO
  • 20 FEB 2014
    The Firehouse Space
    Momenta Quartet
    Emilie-Anne Gendron, violin; Adda Kridler, violin; Stephanie Griffin, viola; Michael Haas, cello

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.