Repertoire Search

Dmitri Shostakovich

Publisher: G. Schirmer

The Story of the Silly Baby Mouse, Music to the Cartoon (1939), Op. 56
Work Notes
G Schirmer is the publisher of the work in the USA, Canada and Mexico only. Le Chant du Monde is the publisher of the work in France, Belgium, Luxemburg, Andorra, French speaking African countries.
Text Writer
Libretto after the story by Samuil Marshak
Dmitri Shostakovich Estate
Opera and Music Theatre
Sub Category
Chamber Opera
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
2S, Mz, T, Bar, 2B, 2Nar
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Dmitri Shostakovich The Story of the Silly Baby Mouse, Music to the Cartoon (1939), Op. 56
Score to the animated children's cartoon by Mikhail Tsekhanovsky after the story by Samuil Marshak.

Cast List:
   MRS. MOUSE: High soprano
   MRS.CAT: Soprano
   DUCK: Mezzo-soprano
   THE HORSE: Tenor
   MRS. PIG: Baritone [contralto]
   THE TOAD: Bass
   BABY MOUSE: Speaking part
   PIKE: Mute part

The silly little mouse won’t go to sleep to the strains of a lullaby, so its mother seeks help from her neighbors, the duck, the pig, the toad, the horse and the pike. No one can help. Eventually the cat succeeds in singing the silly little mouse to sleep. The next morning, however, the cat is discovered to have abducted the little mouse. Led by the dog, the other animals manage to rescue the little mouse from the cat just as she is about to eat it.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.