Repertoire Search

William Schuman

Publisher: AMP

Symphony for Strings (Symphony No. 5) in Three Movements (1943)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Sub Category
String Orchestra
Year Composed
17 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
William Schuman Symphony for Strings (Symphony No. 5) in Three Movements (1943)
Schuman’s Symphony for Strings was the fifth he composed. It was written for the Koussevitzky Music Foundation, the foundation made as a memorial to Mme. Natalie Koussevitzky. Its first performance was by the Boston Symphony Orchestra on November 12, 1943.

The first movement, Molto agitato ed energico, opens with a brilliant and incisive theme set forth by the violins in unison on the G strings, fortissimo. The theme, together with a second one of less prominence, is developed in a variety of harmonic and rhythmic patterns, while the vigor of the movement is maintained to the end. The second movement, Larghissimo, begins with broad chords, but in these and the melody which follows, the strings are muted. As this melody is brought to a climax with an accompanying figuration in sixteenths, the mutes are momentarily removed. The close reverts to the first part and subsides to pianissimo. The third movement is a Presto leggiero. The form is in the manner of a rondo, with the theme varied at each appearance. It first develops with short or pizzicato notes, but in its course becomes sustained and melodic, rising at last to brilliance, while the tempo is not relaxed.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.