Repertoire Search

Gunther Schuller

Publisher: AMP

Sextet (1994)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
Wind Quintet
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Piano (left hand)
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Gunther Schuller Sextet (1994)
Commissioned: Theater Chamber Players of the Kennedy Center
World Premiere: March 5, 1994

Composer Note:
Sextet is a slightly unusual work in the woodwind/piano literature in that it is composed for left-hand piano and for the full woodwind quintet. The two great masterworks for this medium are, of course, Mozart and Beethoven’s Quintet which are for two-handed piano and woodwind quartet (!), leaving out the flute. This omission has frustrated flutists for two centuries, and many existing wind quintets are eager to have a work in which their flutist can somehow at least participate in the concert, even if the Mozart and Beethoven are not available to them.

Thus my sextet, an instrumental rarity in the existing literature, will hopefully fulfill a need. The work is dedicated to Leon Fleischer and was commissioned by Dina Kosten and the Theatre Chamber Players of Kennedy Center. It is in four movements, cast in traditional genre forms: Prelude, Aria, Scherzo (Plaisanterie), and Toccata. Though quite contrasting in mood and character—an important (and to me vital) feature of suit-forms of the past—the four movements have certain traditional formal elements in common: either a central climax (‘arch’ or ‘pyramid’ form) or its opposite, a relaxation of tempo and intensity in the middle (‘inverted pyramid’). In the Scherzo this central episode takes the form of a virtuosic digital display for the pianist (at double tempo). Its subtitle, Plaisanterie, may ring a bit hollow to some players, for the movement is “unpleasantly” demanding, challenging and technically virtuosic.

A note about the piano part: it is obviously an unavoidable and inherent limitation to be restricted to five fingers rather than the usual ten. This represents a real challenge to the composer, for lots of otherwise ‘wonderful ideas’ are suddenly not available or feasible. This is where the two sustaining pedals of the modern piano come to the rescue, in turn challenging the composer—and the performer—to keep the harmonies clear, logical and unblurred.

— Gunther Schuller

  • Ensemble
    Miro String Quartet
    Michael Finn and Charles Abramovic
  • 14 JAN 2011
    Puffin Cultural Forum

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.