Repertoire Search

Gunther Schuller

Publisher: AMP

Recitative and Rondo (1954)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
11 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Alternate Orchestration
Programme Note
Gunther Schuller Recitative and Rondo (1954)
Composer Note:

The work begins with the violin ‘reciting’ alone at some length, marked Lento, quasi cadenza (much in the format—although hardly the style—of Ravel’s Tzigane). Virtually the entire opening cadenza is then repeated, this time with orchestra accompaniment. But the final phrase is now turned into a quiet cadence on the open G string, leading directly (attacca) to the Rondo, marked Allegro. It is a rather strict ‘classical’ six-part rondo, ABACAB, each return of the A increasingly varying the material. Its theme is vigorous, marked marcato, which contrasts with the B and C episodes, the former with light skipping figures in the violins, the latter in a decidedly different vein and tempo. Here the solo violin is in fact cast in an accompanimental role, the C episode beginning with a brief contrapuntal exchange between the first violins and cellos, and leading eventually to the Rondo’s climactic high point (violin soaring above the orchestra).

The return of the B episode is interrupted by a coda which, beginning very calmly, rises in ever-ascending and expanding harmonies to an enormous climax in which the solo violin is all but overpowered by the orchestra. The last measures briefly recapitulate the initial Recitative mood before a gigantic orchestral chord—twelve-tone, but basically C major—provides the final punctuation: exclamation point.

— Gunther Schuller

  • Soloist(s)
    Robert Davidovici (Violin), Steven De Groote (Piano)
    New World Records:
  • Soloist(s)
    Mary Kathleen Ernst (Piano), Hasse Borup (Violin)
    Centaur Records:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.