Repertoire Search

Richard Danielpour

Publisher: AMP

Voices of Remembrance: Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra (1998)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
24 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
String Quartet
Programme Note
Richard Danielpour Voices of Remembrance: Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra (1998)
Composer's note:

“Voices of Remembrance” was written as a reliquary for three great American leaders, President John F. Kennedy, Senator Robert F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King. All three men were assassinated between 1963 and 1968. The official explanations for these murders have never been congruent with the many unanswered and/or unresolved questions that remain today. The feeling that we have never been told the truth about these events in our history was a great motivating factor for the composition of this work, and helped to define the inherent quality and tenor of the piece. For many Americans the period framed by those assassinations was a time of hope shattered, of a major turning point in how Americans felt about their government. And the power and vision of these three individuals have proven in many ways stronger than death; much of the way Americans live today has been shaped by their ideas and dreams.

--Richard Danielpour

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.