Repertoire Search

Richard Danielpour

Publisher: AMP

Quintet for Piano and Strings (1988)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
28 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Richard Danielpour Quintet for Piano and Strings (1988)
Composer's note:

I Annunciation
II Atonement
III Apotheosis

My piano quintet was begun in June of 1988 in New York and completed that September in Bellagio, Italy. Cast in three movements the work is approximately 24 minutes in length.

The subtitles Annunciation, Atonement and Apotheosis are not meant to imply a hidden programmatic agenda as much as they are intended to suggest something of the nature and profile of the individual movements as well as the arc of the composition as a whole. The second movement, Atonement is an adagio which emphasizes the lyrical, conversational and coloristic aspects of the work. It is the heart and core of the composition not only due to its central placement but more importantly because it is dramatically and structurally the major pivotal point of the work. By contrast, the fast outer movements with their more extraverted rhythmic energies deal with a sense of conflict in need of transformation (movement I) and the result of that transformation (movement III).

The composition of this work was greatly facilitated by Fellowship Residencies at the MacDowell Colony, Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, and the Rockefeller Foundation at Bellagio, Italy.

--Richard Danielpour

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.