Repertoire Search

Robert Xavier Rodríguez

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Decem Perfectum - Concertino for Woodwind Quintet, Brass Quintet and Wind Ensemble (2003)
G Schirmer Inc
Works for Band/Wind/Brass Ensemble
Sub Category
Mixed Wind Ensemble
Year Composed
18 Minutes
Programme Note
Robert Xavier Rodríguez Decem Perfectum - Concertino for Woodwind Quintet, Brass Quintet and Wind Ensemble (2003)
A dazzling showpiece, ideal for a faculty woodwind quintet and brass quintet joining a university wind ensemble. The Latin title, literally "Perfect Ten," refers to the philosophy of Pythagoras, the 6th-century Greek mathematician. Pythagoras considered the number ten to be a mystical number because it represented the sum of the first four digits: one plus two plus three plus four. Musically, those numbers are significant because they represent the perfect whole-number ratios between pitches comprising the unison (1:1), the octave (2:1), the fourth (3:2) and the fifth (4:3). The pitch material for Decem Perfectum is built primarily upon these perfect intervals. The music is constructed in sets of ten pitches presented in two rhythmic groups of five. Similarly, the ten soloists are divided into two groups: a woodwind quintet of flute, oboe, clarinet, alto saxophone and bassoon and a brass quintet of two trumpets, horn, tenor/bass trombone and tuba.

The first movement, "Ritornello," is modeled on the Baroque concerto grosso in which the two groups of soloists alternate with the full ensemble with statements and variations of the principal thematic material. The second movement, "Cadenza," features each of the ten soloists in turn, with each new instrument often overlapping its predecessor in a gradual transformation of timbre, register and figuration. The third movement, "Toccata," is a vigorous moto perpetuo on a single harmonic pattern in the manner of a Baroque chaconne, in which the forces gradually build in variations of increasing dynamic intensity and richness of texture, culminating in a brilliant climax.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.