Repertoire Search

Sergei Prokofiev

Publisher: G. Schirmer

War and Peace (1952), 91
Work Notes
available in the USA, Canada and Mexico only
Text Writer
Libretto by the composer and Mira Mendelson
Schirmer Russian Music
Opera and Music Theatre
Year Composed
3 Hours 50 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
2 Baritones, 4 Basses, 2 Sopranos, Alto or Mezzo Soprano, 2 Tenors, 2 Mezzo sopranos
Programme Note
Sergei Prokofiev War and Peace (1952), 91
Lyric-dramatic scenes.

Set in Russia around the time of Napoleon’s invasion, this is a love story of Prince Andrei Bolkonsky and Natasha, told against the background of the fighting between the French and the Russian armies.

First performed as a concert of 11 scenes on 7 June 1944 by the USSR State Symphony Orchestra with conductor Samuil Samosud. These 11 scenes were staged for the first time on 31 March 1955 at the Leningrad State Academy's Maly Opera Theatre, conducted by Eduard Grikurov. Ultimately a version for 13 scenes was staged for the first time on 8 November 1957 at the Stanislavsky Opera Theatre in Moscow with Alexander Shaverdov as the conductor.

  • 14 NOV 2009
    Stanford, CA
    Stanford University Symphony Orchestra
    Jin- Dong Cai, conductor

    Other Dates:
    15 November - Stanford, CA
  • 30 JAN 2009
    Houston, TX
    Houston Grand Opera

    Other Dates:
    31 January; 13,12 February - Houston, TX
  • 18 OCT 2008
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Orchestre de l’Université de Montréal
    Jean-Francois Rivest, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.